LOST: The End and Review

And so, without further delay, We Present…

LOST: The Review

My Notes

Beautiful.
That was my feeling as the credits rolled.  I felt so content, so emotionally full and overflowing with joy.  It was one of the most amazing experiences of my life.

For me it is very important to note the extreme reverence I hold for series finales.  It is the end of something which is always incredible.  This is just like when you work in a play or musical or movie – you develop a close bond to the team involved.  You become a family.  In this manner, when a group of people I have come to know and love say goodbye, it is emotionally heart-wrenching. Thus, when I finish a show, I try to devote myself to that experience, without distraction. With Reverence.

Back to my review – It worked. Very simply it provided everything I wanted.  I got my incredible heap of catharsis.  The best moment of the show was when Kim and Jin remembered 🙂  The big three questions were answered:
Who wins? Good guys
What’s up with Desmond? The Failsafe
What’s up with the alternate world? Complicated. (see below)

That last one is a bit tough. For me, the first viewing is the full-catharsis experience. When I was watching the end of “The End”, I was satisfied with the mysterious, life and death thing.  It worked for me on the emotional level. However the more I stop to think about it, the more I realize that it doesn’t make much sense. Two thoughts:

1.  Three words – Stained glass window.  As a piece of advice, if you ever go to a church and in that church you find a traditionally patterned and styled stained glass window that depicts all religions on the same plane like they don’t matter, please BURN IT DOWN.  Don’t think. Do it.  That was total bullbleep, both on the philosophical and the writing level.  Besides the obvious logical fallacy of putting such an object into a place of worship of ONE of those religions, the fallacy of implying that all religions can coexist in Truth though two of them claim that all the other ones are false, the REAL PROBLEM is the horrible laziness of the writers.
While it is obvious what they were going for, there are both better and more subtle ways to show what they are drawing from. For example, have a Quran, a small buddha, and/or a Shiva statue on the desk.  Much better and much less theologically wrong than making some god-aweful (pun intended) stained glass spectacle.  That was stupid.

2.  On the other hand, I really did like the idea that what matters in this life is the people we meet – the idea that the most important time in our lives is the time we spend with total strangers.  It seems radical to think that the destination of Oceanic 815 didn’t matter but the relationships of the people on board.  I am still unpacking exactly what that means but i recognize that something really profound was said here.

Ultimately I loved it.  I felt so happy with the way it went down and was totally content with it’s resolution, even if I do not fully understand it.  My plan right now is to wait a bit, oh say a month or so, and then watch it again sans the emotional need for closure. I will then post another review based more on the philosophical standpoint of the Finale.

I hope you have enjoyed my journey to the end of LOST as much as I have.  I know this show changed my perception of the possibilities of Television.  Thank you for sticking with me through out and I look forward to sharing more with you in the future.  And I’ll leave you with this (spoiler warning):

Please Comment below and Subscribe!

Author: Tyler D. Welch

Filmmaker, Storyteller, Scholar

1 thought on “LOST: The End and Review”

Leave a Reply

