Returning with “The Departed”

Film: The Departed
*Non-Film Challenge*
My Rating: 7/10

Reasoning:
This film is brilliant and speaks volumes to the supposed fairness of this world. Scorsese poses questions of morality and integrity which challenge one’s faith in humanity. The Departed is fantastic, and I don’t really like it.

First, and I will justify afterwards, the vulgarity in the film was way over the top. I am one who understands that for some stories, you have to dip into the vat of cursing and sex and violence. To be honest, had anyone tried to make a movie about betrayal in both the Boston PD and the Mafia without making it violent and cussing galore, I would not watch it; that’s not reality.

However, there was too much. We get it – they’re gangsters. They kill people. Violence was fine. The sex wasn’t bad. What was over the top was the cursing. This could be the only time I complain about it but it was far too much.

Second, I know this was a great movie but I just don’t really get it.  I have this thing against what I call “defeatist” films.  Films that don’t go anywhere or seem to say “life sucks, move on” without any sort of growth or hope bug me (Cough *The Game* cough). Thus I again ask, what is the purpose of this film.  I know it says great things about life, but I just hate that the end leaves me (maybe not you) feeling so defeated and hopeless.

Ultimately, I like DiCaprio and Damon’s dance (oh alliteration) and Nicholson gives a fantastic performance.  The story is great (4), the production is good (4), and it clearly has an impact on me (4).  I love it, but it is going to take me a few more views for me to like it.

Tell me what you think! I would love to hear your thoughts on Scorsese’s recent mind-tackling film below in the comments!

And I’ll leave you with this advice: if you are trying to get into the mafia, don’t order cranberry juice at a bar. Seriously.

Seriously.

Please comment below and subscribe!

Author: Tyler D. Welch

Filmmaker, Storyteller, Scholar

Leave a Reply

