Hannah and Her Sisters

Alright folks!  Tyler here with yet another review for the 2011 Summer Film Challenge (yeah I know it’s gone longer than summer).  This time I get to critique the second and final Woody Allen film of the Challenge:  Hannah and Her Sisters.  It was interesting and fun, yet I really wasn’t wowed by it.  So, let’s get into it.

This one is going to be a bit short, simply because I don’t really have that much to say about it.  It was an incredibly well done slice-of-life film which I really appreciated as a look at real life.  On the other hand, I don’t really feel like it stood out in any prominent way.  It just seemed like a fun film that was enjoyable and a window into seemingly real people’s lives. Not much more.

As far as the acting goes you can’t possibly go wrong with a Woody Allen picture.  Each player was interesting both as the person they were creating as well as for who they were themselves.  What I mean is this – it was cool to see the character Carrie Fisher made in the story itself, AND to see her acting post-Star Wars era.  I have seen each actor or actress in other films and it was interesting to see them as such normal people.

What I spent most of the film trying to figure out was this: what connects the three stories in the film?  They were all about people living life but each one was interconnected with the other two in some way.  The conclusion I came to is that each story involved Life and Love in various forms.  It was interesting to watch how each person tried to find meaning in their life and to achieve happiness by themselves.  Yet, it was when they came together (both emotionally and in each other’s physical presence) that they discovered they were truly happy.  In essence, it all works out in the end when you have friends.  Or something like that 🙂

Overall, I would say that it is an okay film, but it’s not particularly interesting or engaging. It explores a new avenue of film but really just lacks that “Umph” needed to make it stand out from all the rest. Any audience could enjoy Hannah and Her Sisters, but I highly doubt I will be looking back to this film for any reason anytime soon.

One final note:  Woody Allen = Wittier Rick Moranis  🙂

Overall Rating:  6//10

There you go!  Sorry to any serious Woody fan’s out there but I “calls ’em as I sees ’em”.   Let me know what you thought of the film in the comments below and I might be persuaded to reconsider.

As we approach this Christmas season I want to thank you all for your readership and encouragement over this year.  It has been a great start thus far to this and my Art of the Trailer blog and again I thank you for stopping by to check out my reviews every once in a while.  I will be taking a break for the holidays to enjoy time with my friends and family, as I hope you will be doing as well.

When I come back at the start of next year, you can expect at least 2 new reviews from the Summer Film Challenge.  Most likely it will be a Coen Bros. film and maybe another Kaufman flick if I can muster the determination for it 🙂  Anyway, thanks for stopping by, check out my review of the new Men in Black 3 this Friday on Art of the Trailer!

To you and all those you hold dear, Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, and I will see you all in 2012.  God Bless!

Please Comment Below and Subscribe!

Author: Tyler D. Welch

Filmmaker, Storyteller, Scholar

Leave a Reply

